Friendship

I have been blessed, as of late, with the incredible and unfathomable opportunity to be of counsel to some of my dear friends as they contemplate their future (they are in high school, about to go to college).  In that process I have discovered that one of the hardest things has been to genuinely “let go, and let God” in my compassion for them and devotion to their success.  Because I love them so dearly, and would do practically anything for them, I want them to make the very best decisions and follow the highest paths I believe they are capable of.  However (and this is the sticking point), that is not my place.  I cannot tell them how to lead their lives any more than I can tell them what to wear, what music to listen to, or who to be friends with.  I realize that, to most of you, this is a no-brainer, but here’s the twist:  when you do genuinely put your faith in God into practice (e.g., you let go and let Him do His will), He rewards you with greater peace and faithfulness than you had before.  Pretty nifty, huh? Just my thought for (another) Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

