Revelations

So, now that my job search is nearly a year old, I’ve begun to think maybe a normal career path isn’t for me.   Perhaps I am meant to be one of those people who float from job to job as the mood strikes—and the opportunity presents itself.  (That certainly would explain my less-than-fixed job history.)  I do, after all, like to imagine myself a dreamer, a poet, an aesthetic; someone who enjoys believing he is something more than, or different from, the average joe who puts in his thirty years and moves to Florida.  The only problem with this self-portrait is maturity; the increasing realization that the world, and one’s age, demand a certain degree of commitment and responsibility.

Regardless, as I still find myself in want of a clear directive for my life, I’ll continue the hunt.  For now.

M B H

Leave a Reply

