Inspired by a Painting

Anders Zorn (1860-1920), Swedish, "In the Woods"

I used to find that art was lovely

I used to find beauty a romance

I used to find the summer was endless

And in the palette I took sheer delight

 

I used to find the grasses were lush

I used to find the fidgeting a thrill

The shadows and folds they used to entrance

And in the form I found my true joy

 

But the softer hues all have grown flat

The figure has faded from view

It is only a picture now,

Some suggestion of my former youth.

Leave a Reply

