Everyone

Everyone wants for friendships
Everyone sues for acceptance
Everyone desires not to be left alone
On the dust-heap
Of yesterday’s news

Everyone feels they deserve better
Everyone believes they are worth it
Everyone wants to be right in the middle
Of the latest thing
Going on

So that they may share in the glory
And claim the bright idea themselves
To be the center of attention

No matter what you say,
You’re that way
Whether you realize it at once
Or only after the crowd is gone.

2 thoughts on “Everyone

  1. Elise,

    Hello! Thank you so much for your comment, and for subscribing to my blog. Your compliments mean an awful lot. I hope that my blog helps inspire your poetic aims. Keep in touch!

    Mark H.

  2. Hey, I just came across your blog. I’m interested in poetry myself and have written a fair bit. Your writing style, especially this piece, is beautiful! I enjoyed reading it so much…it flows well and it’s easy to read. Just thought I’d leave a comment and let you know that I’ve enjoyed reading your poetry and have subscribed to your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

