Carolina A Love Song

My heart is sore for hills,
My eyes for the verdant green
My soul longs for the mountain’s height
My nose for its crisp, cold air

My arms wish for the broad expanse,
My legs aim to stretch out far
And my feet are aching to wade
In all your rippling streams.

I want to be home,
I want to be home
In the worst way

I need wide open spaces
The rich green expanse
Shadows dancing off mountains
Sloped calmly to my right,
Far as the eye can imagine.

Carolina,

I long for thee
When haste has come my way

Carolina,
You call to me

And tell me the time
To come back home.

Leave a Reply

