Jekyll Island

I woke up at Jekyll abed
Went o’er to the window instead
And there on the lawn
As the light had made dawn
Strode a Victorian lady well-bred*

Her carriage drew near
Horse’s hooves I could hear
And then she disappeared
Out of view

Back to my bed I resigned
For this vision, I knew
Was not mine
Then woke up again
Yet in the same bed
Happy to greet my own time.

_____________________
*I originally ended this line, “in red,” but red isn’t a very Victorian color, especially on the coast. Read it however you wish!

Leave a Reply

