Our Tenth Anniversary

Celebrating Ten Years: 2005-2015

On December 30, 2005 I launched A Bend in the Road at the invitation of my best friend. (In those days WordPress was in its infancy, and blogs were available by invitation only.)

On that day I blogged about my nascent interest in F. Scott Fitzgerald (1896-1940), that Jazz Age luminary who once lived in a hotel near my home. Fitzgerald’s life, as if written for a Greek tragedy, hooked me instantly.

Now ten years on, A Bend in the Road presents an interesting retrospective on the development of my poetry. I began the habit in 2006 when searching for the right words and the proper way to bid a friend farewell. I subsequently found, as proved by this blog, that verse is an excellent mode for introspection and commentary on the world.

In 2005 I was young and rather directionless; today I am older and have a clearer purpose for my life. So it hasn’t been all bad!

Thanks for staying with me all these years.

M.B.H.,
Christmas 2015
near Asheville, NC

 

Leave a Reply

