Thirty-Nine

Today is my 39th birthday.

With each passing decade I think of all the wonderful people I know. So I celebrate my birthday with deep gratitude.

With each passing decade I am reminded of the goals I achieved. So I pause on my birthday with a degree of satisfaction.

With each passing decade I am impressed by what I survived. So I meet my birthday with a sense of reverence.

With each passing decade I am thankful for the critical lessons I learned. So I reflect on my birthday with some perspective.

With each passing decade I am guardedly hopeful for smoother sailing, although I know I will inevitably face new challenges. So I pray on my birthday for continued courage.

I know amazing people. I accomplished great things. I survived major challenges. I learned crucial lessons. With these blessings I will meet what lays ahead. So on my birthday let me pause, reflect, celebrate, and center myself with a deep and steadying peace.

M.B.H.

Leave a Reply

